How is your cell phone coverage at KI?

BoddaH1994

Hey everyone -

I'm just wondering how your coverage is at Kings Island this year. I know it's kind of a strange question. I've been running on the Sprint network for over 10 years now and have been really happy with the service, but KI has always been an issue this year.

In years past, thing would only go awry on extremely busy days - like Saturdays during Haunt - but this year it's been really bad every day. Roaming constantly, horrible data speeds, unable to text, etc.

I know that they put a micro-cell in for AT&T, and that's worked out really well for those users. How are the other carriers? Are other Sprint users have issues too?

• Like 2

Somehow, I've used all 3 major carriers at the park this season. (I have multiple devices, and I switched carriers on one.)

Sprint has decent wimax speeds in some areas of the park, but it's hard to get a signal. Sprint CDMA service is rather terrible at KI, and LTE isn't rolled out there yet.

Verizon's coverage is great all-around. I've had no problems with their (LTE or CDMA) service anywhere in the park.

AT&T also has good LTE and GSM coverage at the park now, but it doesn't work at all inside Flight of Fear.

• Like 1

I have AT&T. Last year, on the busier days like Haunt, I had 5 bars, but the data didn't quick work and I wasn't able to make calls or text. It has gotten better, but my battery only lasts about 3-4 hours. I image that it will only be worse during Haunt, again. Everyone else I go to KI with has Verizon. They never have connectivity issue. Not even during Haunt.

• Like 1

Somehow, I've used all 3 major carriers at the park this season. (I have multiple devices, and I switched carriers on one.)

Sprint has decent wimax speeds in some areas of the park, but it's hard to get a signal. Sprint CDMA service is rather terrible at KI, and LTE isn't rolled out there yet.