Kings Island Central History Section

Kings Island has been a place full of laughs, thrills, chills and spills since it opened in 1972. It traces its roots back to the shores of the Ohio River in the 1880`s as Coney Island opened in Anderson Township. Discover the history of how Coney`s success would lead to its eventual closure and the development of Kings Island some twenty miles north from the banks of the Ohio River. Throughout the years, many attractions have come and gone, many shows have come and gone, but one thing remains. Kings Island is a place to have fun, spend time with friends and families and create memories that last a lifetime. Explore the past attractions that have created countless memories for thousands of people on the various pages in this history section, and enjoy the dozens of pictures as well as the videos to bring back those not so vivid memories.